In order to provide and maintain an equitable and transparent method for students to indicate their desire to enroll in closed courses, the University uses a waitlist process during registration.
Waitlists are prioritized in one of two ways - first come, first served (most common), and by class standing.
Students are encouraged to waitlist for courses they need that are closed, especially if the waitlist has five or fewer students. If a student is waitlisted for a course, the student will need to remain on that waitlist until receiving an email notification that a seat has opened. Students are allowed to waitlist for up to four courses at a time.
The Office of the University Registrar cannot enroll students in closed courses for any reason (including unintentional withdrawals), nor can the waitlist order be altered at any time. The waitlist process is automatic; when a seat opens in a closed course, the first student on the waitlist will receive an email. That student then has 24 hours to add the course. If the student does not take this action, the next student on the list will be notified, and so on. If a seat opens in a waitlisted course, students should not try to add the course until they receive notice to add via email. If they try to add before receiving notice, they will be unable to add the course, and will also be dropped from the waitlist.
For a list of frequently asked questions about the waitlist process, please see our Automatic Waitlisting FAQ.
Article is closed for comments.